JEDCO Supports Innovative New Higher Ed Alliance

Sep 4, 2019 | News

JEDCO staff and board members attended the ribbon cutting ceremony celebrating the formation of the Deep East Texas College and Career Alliance today at the Higher Education and Technology Center in Jasper.

This innovative alliance provides dual-credit courses to students seeking 4-year diplomas, Associate Degrees, or Industry Approved Certificates.  Participating school districts include Jasper, Kirbyville, Woodville, Spurger, Newton and Burkeville.  The college courses are provided by Stephen F. Austin University and Lamar Institute of Technology.  Students can not only take college level core curriculum classes, but also training across a broad range of technology skills from welding to cyber-security.

JEDCO supports the new alliance with scholarships as well as matching grants in conjunction with the Texas Workforce Commission. The T.L.L Temple Foundation is also providing financial support to DETCCA.

L-R in the photo:  Eddie Hopkins – JEDCO and Higher Education and Technology Foundation, Dr. Steve Hyden – JISD, Dr. Sylvia Leal – TLL Temple Foundation, Dr. Miranda Phillips – LIT Beaumont, State Rep. James White, Dr. Steve Westbrook – SFA Pres., Ann Gardner – Burkeville ISD, Michelle Barrow – Newton ISD, Morgan Wright – Spurger ISD, not shown is Karen Kipp-Jasper Higher Education and Technology Foundation. Cutting the Ribbon is Mark Durand, Pres. Jasper ISD School Board.